Padma Awards 2023: Eligibility, Nomination, Category And Some Facts on Padma Awards For UPSC

Padma Awards 2023: Eligibility, Nomination, Category And Some Facts on Padma Awards For UPSC

‘Padma Awards’ is known as the second highest Civilian honors of the Country after Bharat Ratna. In 1954 the Government of India initiated two highest civilian awards; the Bharat Ratna and the Padma award. The awards were initiated to honor the extraordinary works of citizens in public interest from various fields.

With the announcement of 2022 Padma Awards, the tally of Padma Awards including Bhartat Ratna has crossed 5000.

People’s Padma

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, in his first ‘Man ki baat’ program of 2021, urged the citizens of the country to learn and recognize the contributions of ‘Unsung Heroes’, who are working silently and selflessly for betterment of society. Later in the month of July, when PM asked people to make nominations of inspiring individuals for the prestigious Padma Awards, he eventually turned it into People’s Padma.

Padma Awards Category

Initially only Padm Vibhushan was bestowed to individuals as Padma Awards. With the issue of Presidential notification in January 8, 1955, it was divided into 3 categories:
First category as Padma Vibhushan instituted for exceptional as well as distinguished work.Second Category as Padma Bhushan for distinguished work of High order.
Third category as Padma Shri for distinguished work.

The awardees are honored with a Sanad (certificate) and a replica of Medallion that may be worn at ceremonial or state function, if desired. Padma awardees do not get any cash prize.

Padma Awards are announced every year on the occasion of Republic Day of India, January 26. They are presented by the President of India, at Rashtrapati Bhawan in the month of March/April. Also the names of awardees are published in the Gazette of India on the day of presentation ceremony.

Who is Eligible For Padma Awards?

As the award is given to the people for their ‘work of distinction’, people from various fields such as Art, Literature, Education, Sports, Medicine, Science and Engineering, Public Affairs, Civil Service, Trade and Industry etc are eligible for this. Without any discrimination of race, caste, gender, occupation, position and area this award is presented to those who really deserve to have it.

There is also an exception that government servants including those working with public sector unions except doctors and scientists are not eligible for the Padma awards.

Padma Awards 2023, How to Nominate?

The nominations for padma awards 2023 have been started. Nominations have begun from May 1, 2022 which will last till September 15, 2022. Nominations/recommendations can be done only through the National Award Portal
Steps of nomination are as follows:

  • Register on official website
  • Read the instruction PDF carefully and tab on By Citizen on the right corner.
  • Once your registration gets done, fill up the form for Padma Awards.
  • At the end of the process write about your work and achievements in the description box carefully so that it should not exceed the prescribed word limit of 800 words.

Some Facts about Padma Awards

  • In 2022, 128 Padma Awards are presented in 2 civil investiture ceremonies in March. The list comprises 4 Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan, 107 Padma Shri Awards.
  • Tokyo Olympics gold medalist Neeraj Chopra was honored with Padma Shri.
  • Former chief minister of UP, late Kalyan Singh was honored with the Padma Vibhushan award for his works in public domain.
  • The award is given on the recommendation of the Padma Award committee, which is annually created by the Prime Minister of India.
  • No Padma Award was given in the years 1978, 1979, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996 and 1997 because of the change in the government.
  • Mary Kom and Vishwanathan Anand are the recipients of all three Padma Awards, while Sachin Tendulkar has been honored with Padma Shri, Padma Vibhushan and The Bharat Ratna in 2014.

Source link

Leave a Comment